No es un Agur, sino un Gero Arte

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a couple weeks now.  I was going to write it before I left Spain.  But then life happened and I didn’t get a chance.  Too many people to say goodbye to.  Too many gintonics to drink with my prima.  Too many “lasts” to fit in.

Then I was going to write this post on the plane.  Well after being awake for almost 48 hours, my brain wasn’t functioning correctly.  Then I promised myself I’d write it the weekend I spent at my sister’s house.  But my little nephew needed some much overdue auntie time.  We spent quiet mornings watching cartoons and making bracelets and exciting afternoons jumping on trampolines.

Once I arrived to my parent’s house, I was sure I’d have a moment to fit in a blog post.  Almost a week later, I’m finally finding a moment.

But to be honest, I’m not sure it’s because I just couldn’t find the time.  I think it was because I wasn’t really ready.  Emotionally and mentally I just wasn’t ready.  Every time I began to think about the reality of our decision I cried.  And anyone who knows me knows I am not a big crier.

I know that I’ll always have a home in Euskadi but saying “Gero Arte” has been really hard. I created my own little life there.  I created my own job.  I made great friends.  I met my hubby there.  Together we created our own little life there.

I would like to give a big shout out to everyone that made our last weeks in Irun so fun and memorable.  We couldn’t have asked for a better send off.

Thank you to all my students who stopped by one last time to say goodbye.  Thank you for all the boxes of chocolates, scarves, posters, pictures and cake.  Thank you Asier for the Olentzero.  We love it!  Thank you Karla and Xabi for staying until 3:30 in the morning to help us pack and clean and, more importantly, keep us entertained.  Thank you to our Basque family for the surprise on Sunday.  Spending one last day as a family meant the world to us and it was perfect.  Thank you to the suegros for feeding us and taking us to the airport on a very rainy morning.  These may have been small details in your lives but they were big gestures in ours.

Here’s a few pictures of our last couple days in Spain:

P1040304

P1040277

P1040278

P1040280

P1040282

P1040285

P1040281P1040286

Leave a Reply

