The next step

A little over a year ago, I started this blog with the intention of  connecting with people around Spain, giving myself something to do when the rain won’t stop and being honest about what was happening in my life.  Well, there’s been one BIG thing I haven’t talked about on here.  After being tied to Spain and Euskadi for almost a decade, I’m moving.  Back to Nevada.  Permanently.

Whoa….those are some powerful words.

This may come as a surprise to many of you but it’s something we’ve been thinking about and working on for almost 2 years now.  After we got married and the hubby finished his university degree with starting thinking about our future and our place in this world.  The hubby immediately started looking for a job here in Spain but with the current economic situation, it’s been impossible (and not for lack of trying).  After a few months we realized that there was a possibility of having to look for employment somewhere else.  I mentioned the idea of trying a new country and the hubby mentioned the States.  Neither of us were convinced of the other’s idea so we decided to spend the rest of the year thinking and trying to come to an agreement.  Conversation after conversation I pushed hard for moving to  a different country.  South Korea and anywhere in South America were at the top of my list.  The hubby was sure the States was our best bet.  But after nine months of difficult conversations we decided that we would give the States a try.

I don’t usually give in easy and am quite stubborn but I saw the conviction in my hubby’s eyes and knew that we were moving back home.  Whether I liked it or not.  As soon as I mentioned it to my parents, they were surprisingly 100% on board.  My sisters and little monster of a nephew couldn’t hide their excitement.  So, it was decided.  We were making a big move.  The next step in our life together.

I knew at the beginning of this year that I wasn’t ready yet but I told myself that by the end of the year, I would be.  I still had so many things to do here.  Some many places to see.  So much food I haven’t tried yet (the most important thing!).  But I had a year to get ready and be at peace with our decision.

10 months later and I’m no closer to being ready.  I keep joking that my hubby is going to have to push me on the plane.  I’ve created a little life here and I don’t want to leave it.

An international move is not going to be an easy one.  But the thing that reassures me is the fact that Spain will always be here.  And the coolest thing is I get to have two homes now.  The US and Spain.  Not many people are lucky enough to get that.

All that’s left (minus all the packing) is to just take a deep breath and take the next step.

4 thoughts on “The next step

  1. Why South Korea? I so did not enjoy my time there and they weren’t very friendly to Americans. You are right to go back to the states with the attitude that you have two homes. Honey, there will never be time to see all the world you want. I was thinking about going to Morocco for Christmas, then realized that I would just feel lonely and miss my family. Good luck, it will be a brilliant move for you two! when are you off?

    1. I honestly don’t know why regarding Korea. I’ve been thinking about it for a long time and it just seemed like somewhere completely new. New language. New culture. New continent. Endika was not interested, to say the least. So it will stay on the list for now and have to be a vacation destination. We will be leaving Janauary 16th. If Spain sounds like a good idea for Christmas, you’re always welcome here! Thanks for the encouraging words! They are appreciated!

  2. Season I understand your trepidation. Most important is to make sure you and Endika are on the same page. We are here for you both. Making our way in todays world is much more complex than when I was your age. Everyone is a lot more mobile and time seems to just fly. Meanwhile economics are challenging. We know you two will find your way, just enjoy the journey. Love ya Dad

Leave a Reply

